A Covenant in The Pages

There is a beautiful promise in written words. Not just in fictional books, but in any piece of work an author takes the time to fashion. A written letter is a wonderful way to express ones feelings, the inked words display emotions of all types. A book is more formal. It is often typed up and printed but the promise is still there in wonderful ways. So, what is this promise?

What do you want to feel when you read a book? When you pick a book to read, you will already begin to realize what feelings will occur inside you. You see, readers have that option. A reader picks the book, right? That reader reveals what they want to feel or not feel by which books they choose to read. The back of the book is the promise. When you read the back of a book, you understand that your emotions will be tangled, like a plate of spaghetti. Yes, I am telling you to break the rule and judge a book by its cover.

How unfair it is. Of course, I know life is not fair, but books are supposed to be little pieces of one’s heart, and those pieces paint pictures and tell tales. They lavish you with comforting love and laughter or shocking battles scenes and gruesome heartache. The author’s heart is typed into whatever book or paper they write. It’s that covenant in the pages that says you’re are safe with what you have chosen to read. When you are attacked with disappointment in the author for breaking those promises emotions, it is almost like they’re saying, “I am breaking your heart and you can not do anything about it.”

Us readers trust our books, because words and stories are important to us. We need to feel that familiar thrill when we read. It is our safe place.

2 thoughts on “A Covenant in The Pages

  1. Abigail, I love the word covenant with its rich and powerful meaning so you hooked me at the title. Like you, covenant compels me to read. However, I am only driven by this when reading the Bible. In 2015 I am asking God to help me mine the depths of this word “Covenant” and reveal aspects of his character that I have never known before. I encourage you to do the same. The rich treasures found in this book will prove to surpass all other books, I am confident! Happy mining!

    Like

Leave a comment